Thursday, September 24, 2015

#ThrowbackThursday - FOUR YEARS AGO

Four years ago today...

I was printing out copies of a fledgeling manuscript that at the time was named "Aces."

I was about to share pages from my first complete novel.

I was preparing my luggage.

I was rechecking my hotel reservations at the Newport Beach Hyatt.

I was nervous.

I wanted to cancel my registration.

I was about to attend my very first writers' conference.

I questioned my sanity.

I wanted to be a writer.

I had promised my wife and kids that I can achieve my dream.


I am double checking the presentation slides for the two workshops I plan to give.

I am preparing for my speech on Sunday as the Special Guest Speaker.

I am packing my luggage.

I am rechecking my hotel reservations.

I am excited.

I am grateful for all the writing community and book lovers have done for my career and my novel.

I question my sanity.

I am an award-winning author.

I have a bestselling book.

I am invited regularly to speak at author events.

I want to always improve and evolve as a writer.

I want to make my wife and kids proud.

I am the luckiest person alive.


Is full of possibility and magic.

Fight the good fight!

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Cover Reveal: INCONCEIVABLE! by Tegan Wren

Cover Reveal

I am honored to be part of this exciting Cover Reveal for debut novelist, Tegan Wren. Her novel, INCONCEIVABLE! is scheduled for released on November 16th, 2015.

I read about this novel months ago and instantly knew this is the type of novel that I'd plow through. But I'm getting ahead of myself: First the Cover! But be sure to come back because I hope to land an advanced copy and review the book before release!


I love this cover!


A popular, young royal couple can't produce an heir? INCONCEIVABLE!

When Ozarks native Hatty goes “whole hog” during karaoke, she catches the eye of Prince John. He isn’t what she expects the heir to a small European nation to be: he's affable, witty, and isn’t put off by her tell-it-like-it-is demeanor. Their flirtation should be short lived, but a force stronger than fate—Hatty’s newspaper editor—assigns her to cover the royals. After spending time together, she and John soon begin dating, and Hatty finds herself making headlines instead of writing them.

But challenges loom that are even more complicated than figuring out how to mesh Hatty's journalism career with life at Belvoir Palace. Hatty and John soon find themselves embroiled in an unusual sex scandal: they can't produce an heir. Tabloids dub Hatty a “Barren-ess,” and the royals become irate. Hatty politely tells them to shove it. But beneath her confident exterior, she struggles to cope with a heartbreak that invades her most intimate moments with John. Pressured to choose between invasive medical procedures and abandoning John’s claim to the throne, the couple feels trapped until a trip to Ethiopia shows them happy endings sometimes arrive long after saying “I do.”

You can Pre-Oder Now!  Amazon US     Amazon UK     GoodReads

Advance praise for INCONCEIVABLE!

·      "As someone who has experienced infertility, I empathize with Hatty's struggles. Wren beautifully illuminates the joy, grief, and adventure of creating a family against all odds in this heart warming and impactful story."  America Olivo Campbell, actress: DeGrassi: The Next Generation, Chicago PD, Mission Impossible 5. Spokesperson for Baby Quest Foundation

·      "I found the insights into infertility invaluable and sensitive." -Marnie Neve, Board Member, Baby Quest Foundation

·      "Not only was this a very well written and entertaining story (I flew through it), but I feel it's also a very important story." -Meredith Tate, author of Missing Pieces

·      "Tegan Wren’s debut novel is by turn funny, heartbreaking and ultimately inspiring." JDC, author and journalist

·      "I loved reading a romantic story about royals that didn't end at the wedding, showing us that there's more to love than falling in it. There's also staying in it, even when troubles come. For better and for worse." -Samantha Bryant, author of Going Through the Change

Tegan Wren bio

The best compliment Tegan Wren ever received came from her sixth grade teacher: “You always have a book in your hand!”

Guided by her love of the creative process, Tegan grew up acting in theatre productions and writing poetry, short stories, and plays. She turned her eye to writing about real life when she worked as a journalist, producing reports for various radio and television stations in medium and large markets in the Midwest and also filing some stories for a major national news network.  Wren has both a Bachelor’s of Journalism and a Master of Arts in Communications. After completing her graduate degree, Tegan had the opportunity to teach journalism courses at a major state university. She absolutely loved training the next generation of journalists.

Tegan’s thankful that she’s had the opportunity to travel overseas, and uses those adventures to inform her writing. She also draws inspiration from her own struggles, joys, and life experiences. Tegan and her husband, Patrick, experienced infertility for five years before becoming parents through adoption.

Best Way to Stalk Tegan :) Blog    Twitter    Facebook    Instagram

Tuesday, September 15, 2015


Body Check!

There are no penalties in this debut novel by Sophia Henry. This fun, fantastic book came out on September 1st, 2015. I've been patiently waiting my turn to review and promote a great book in a new series!

The Blurb

She closed her heart long ago. He just wants to open her mind. For fans of Toni Aleo and Sawyer Bennett, the debut of Sophia Henry’s red-hot Detroit Pilots series introduces a hockey team full of complicated men who fight for love.

Auden Berezin is used to losing people: her father, her mother, her first love. Now, just when she believes those childhood wounds are finally healing, she loses something else: the soccer scholarship that was her ticket to college. Scrambling to earn tuition money, she’s relieved to find a gig translating for a Russian minor-league hockey player—until she realizes that he’s the same dangerously sexy jerk who propositioned her at the bar the night before.

Equal parts muscle and scar tissue, Aleksandr Varenkov knows about trauma. Maybe that’s what draws him to Auden. He also lost his family too young, and he channeled the pain into his passions: first hockey, then vodka and women. But all that seems to just melt away the instant he kisses Auden and feels a jolt of desire as sudden and surprising as a hard check on the ice.

After everything she’s been through, Auden can’t bring herself to trust any man, let alone a hot-headed puck jockey with a bad reputation. Aleksandr just hopes she’ll give him a chance—long enough to prove he’s finally met the one who makes him want to change.

My Review

I have a soft spot for sports fiction. But I’m often hesitant because sometimes the sport aspect takes center stage — that becomes the plot of the story and not the relationship. No need to worry about that with Delayed Penalty. In fact, don’t worry if you don’t know much about hockey, because the focus of this story is on two flawed, but very redeemable people who you want to see make it. 

Auden is a college student whose just trying to make it in life. Enter Aleksandr, the Russian hockey player that is the stereotypical alpha male… only that he is not. He comes across that way initially, which is why Auden could care less for him. She is his translator…and that’s it. Until he becomes more than that. As she gets to know him, the dynamic chemistry between them unveils a relationship that i both sweet and searing.

Sophia Henry renders her characters with a sculptor’s touch. She gives just enough detail, allowing the reader to fill in the rest—making the characters that much more relatable. Their budding romance is refreshing. The story isn’t about the intimacy — it’s not about a play by play — it’s about learning something about human nature and how people who are damaged—flawed--can find completion from the most improbable partner.

As a side note, I loved the little details of the Russian culture. I learned things and in some cases recognized them as traditions that were assimilated into my culture. The authenticity of these details added color to the world Henry created.

Highly recommended. Looking forward to more from this author.

Buy Links:   Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo

Author Info

Sophia Henry, a proud Detroit native, fell in love with reading, writing, and hockey all before she became a teenager. She did not, however, fall in love with snow. So after graduating with an English degree from Central Michigan University, she moved to North Carolina, where she spends her time writing books featuring hockey-playing heroes, chasing her two high-energy sons, watching her beloved Detroit Red Wings, and rocking out at concerts with her husband.

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads

Rafflecopter Giveaway (Select Loveswept Ebook Bundle)

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...